Tags

, , , , ,

After seeing “Elisabeth,” my number one priority for Munich was visiting the castle Neuschwanstein.  I cheerfully bundled up for the day and went to the train station to catch the train to Füssen.  I’d originally wanted to take a tour, thinking it would be easier to get to all of the places I wanted to go, but I’d forgotten how easy it was to travel when you a.) travel in Germany, where the trains are on time to the minute, b.) speak the language and c.) everything is where people tell you they’ll be.

The train ride was beautiful.  My mountain-starved eyes couldn’t get enough of the Bavarian Alps racing alongside me in the snowy landscape.  I hopped on a bus to the castles upon arrival, bought my tickets and hiked up the mountain to Neuschwanstein.  I wished I’d done some research ahead of time, but I learned plenty about the castle while I was there.  King Ludwig II had an artist instead of an architect design it, and all of the rooms were themed on the operas of Richard Wagner, the king’s favorite composer and a close friend.  I also visited the other family castle, Hohenschwangau.  I topped off the day with dinner in a little Bavarian restaurant with Wienerschnitzel and Glühwein.

I explored the Munich the next day, visiting the Olympic stadium, the city centre, the Hofbräuhaus, some churches, a market, and then splurged in a bit of shopping.  (I’d been so good up to this point)

I never wanted to leave Bavaria.  I felt so light and relaxed while I was there.  The beauty and culture of Germany is something very special to me, and I would love to come back to live there some day.

