Tags

, ,

This is my personal attempt to sort out both sides of the refugee/terrorist issue in a simple way so I can see it clearly.  It’s tough when both sides are right.  I don’t offer a solution.   My heart wants to lean on the side of compassion, but there are also many risks and uncertainties to face.

On the one hand, on the other hand.

  • Thousands are fleeing terror and it is our moral and humane duty to help the people that are escaping with their lives.
  • Thousands are fleeing terror from an area controlled by ISIS, who would not hesitate to mix their own terrorists in with the refugees.

On the one hand, on the other hand.

  • It’s good that countries all around the world see a need to help the refugees and are offering aid.
  • It’s bad that refugees are overwhelming and flooding refugee routes.
  • It’s bad that ISIS has influence in countries around the world, and that they’re recruiting young nationals, training them, and unleashing them upon the countries they called home.
  • It’s bad that nationals are being displaced to make room for refugees.

On the one hand, on the other hand.

  • Relaxing border security in order to process refugees more quickly is helping families get to a safer place where they can be provided with food, clothing, medical aid and shelter.
  • Relaxed border security means that terrorists can slip through the wide open cracks into Europe, where they can then travel anywhere in the world.

On the one hand, on the other hand.

  • Racial profiling is bad.  Not all Muslims are terrorists.
  • The terrorists are Muslims.

On the one hand, on the other hand.

  • Refugees can become citizens of their chosen country and go on to lead happy, healthy lives and can be a productive part of their new society.
  • The recent terrorists bombing their cities in Europe were nationalist citizens biding their time over several years.

On the one hand, on the other hand.

  • We have our own history, culture, ethnicity, and religion that has grown over the centuries into a common affinity.
  • They have their own history, culture, ethnicity, and religion that has grown over the centuries into a common affinity.
  • Those histories, culture, ethnicity and religion don’t have a good track record for getting along.

On the one hand, on the other hand.

  • We are humans.
  • They are humans.

On the one hand, on the other hand.

  • ISIS is attacking everyone.
  • The nations of the world are joining together to fight ISIS.  “The enemy of my enemy is a friend.”

On the one hand, on the other hand.

  • We want to destroy ISIS.
  • How?

refugees terror refugees4

 

For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in,  I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’

“Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink?  When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you?  When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’

“The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’     Matthew 25:35-40

 

“I will cast terror into the hearts of those who disbelieve. Therefore strike off their heads and strike off every fingertip of them” Quran 8:12

